Mid-America Expositions, Inc., Home Page  

JANUARY15, 2015



Football Writers Association of America  

Huskers.com—The Official Web Site of Nebraska Athletics

..... Cox Communications


For the 18th consecutive year, Omaha will present the Outland Trophy to college football’s top interior lineman. to, the University of Iowa, offensive tackle Brandon Scherff, was named the 69th winner of the Outland Trophy on Thursday night. Brandon beat out Texas University defensive tackle - Malcom Brown, and Auburn University offensive center Reese Dismukes, for the third-oldest award in major college football. Back to Emcee the Outland Trophy Award Dinner will be Greg Sharpe (the voice of the Huskers). The Outland Trophy Award Dinner will be held Thursday, January 15th at 7:00 pm at the Downtown DoubleTree Hotel, 16th & Dodge Streets.


The Outland Trophy, which has been awarded annually by the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) since 1946, is named after the late John Outland, a lineman at Pennsylvania at the turn of the century.

This prestigious football evening will also feature a former Outland Award Winner. This Year we will Present to the University of Notre Dame, Ross Browner the 1976 Outland Award Winner his Trophy. Downtown Rotary is sponsoring this Outland Trophy. From 1946 through 1987, the Outland winner was presented a plaque and not the authentic Outland Trophy.

Because of the great tradition of the University of Nebraska interior linemen, people in the Midwest appreciate the unheralded work of the "big uglies" up front. Combine the quiet strong work ethic of Nebraskans and that appreciation of the Husker "Outland Tradition" (nine Outland Trophies in all) and Omaha is the perfect home to showcase the Outland.

New this year will be the first ever Tom Osborne Legacy Award honoring Milt Tenopir for his contributions and impact to the Interior lineman in College Football.

Also appearing at the dinner for the 17th straight year will be the Nebraska's football senior awards winners, 2014 Award Winners are - the Novak Trophy - Trevor Roach, the Chamberlin Trophy - Ameer Abdullah and the Cletus Fischer Native Son - Jake Cotton.

Tickets for this years Event on January 15th, are on Sale and can be Reserved by calling 402.346-8003.

........... Omaha also Hosted the Semi-Finalists Announcement Reception Party. The Football Writers Association narrowed the search of the best linemen throughout the country to six semi-finalists, Malcom Brown, DT - Texas, 6'-2", 320 lbs. - Junior; Brandon Scherff, OT - Iowa, 6'5", 320 lbs., Senior; Tre' Jackson, OG - Florida State, 6'4", 330 lbs., Senior; Jake Fisher, OT - Oregon, 6'6", 299 lbs., Senior; Reese Dismukes, C - Auburn, 6'3" 295 lbs. -Senior; Spencer Drango,  OT - Baylor -6'6", 310 lbs., Junior. From these six FWAA have now narrowed it down to the Final three Reese Dismukes, Malcom Brown and Brandon Scherff.


Sponsored By:

The Greater Omaha Sports Committee
In Cooperation With The Omaha World Herald,
Downtown Omaha Rotary & Cox Communications

7015 SPRING ST * OMAHA, NEBRASKA 68106-3518
(402) 346-8003 * FAX (402) 346-5412



2014 Finalists

2014 Semi-Finalists

Video - 2009 Outland Trophy Award

















Sweet & Associates P.C. * Cassem-Tierney-Adam-Gotch & Douglas

Quantum Solutions * Guardian Life Insurance / Foster Group

Nebraska Secret Bugeaters Society







Copyright 2014 Greater Omaha Sports Committee -